Diwali 2016 Dates & Muhurat Timings

Diwali is the festival of lights and is considered to be the most important in India and is being celebrated by all the Indian through out the world.

Diwali 2016

It is five day festival starting from Dhanteras till the fifth day known as Bhaiduj.

Diwali 2016 Dates :

Dhanatrayodashi or Dhan Teras  – 28th October 2016
Naraka Chaturdashi or Choti Diwali  – 29th October 2016
Diwali or Deepavali  – 30th October 2016
Bali Pratipada or Gujarati New Year  – 31st October 2016
Bhaiduj or Yama Dwitiya  – 1st November 2016

Diwali 2016 Muhurat Timings :

Diwali 2016 Dates

Muhurat for Dhan Teras Puja – 28th October 2016 :

  • Dhanteras Puja Muhurta = 19:12 hrs to 20:35 hrs
  • Pradosh Kaal = 18:04 hrs to 20:35 hrs
  • Vrishabha Kaal = 19:12 hrs to 21:12 hrs

Pradosh Kaal during Vrishabha Lagna or Sthir (fixed or not movable) Lagna is the best time for Diwali Puja or Deepavali Puja or Lakshmi Ganesh Pujan or Lakshmi Puja on Dhanteras. It is said that if Dhanteras Puja is done during Sthir Lagna, Lakshmiji will stay in your home.  is considered as Sthir and mostly overlaps with Pradosh Kaal during Diwali day. Many communities especially Gujarati businessmen do Chopda Pujan during Diwali Puja. In this Puja new account books are inaugurated in presence of Goddess Lakshmi to seek her blessing for the next financial year.

Muhurat for Diwali Day Lakshmi Puja – 30th October 2016 :

  • Lakshmi Puja Muhurta = 19:00 hrs to 20:34 hrs
  • Pradosh Kaal = 18:02 hrs to 20:34 hrs
  • Vrishabha Kaal = 19:00 hrs to 21:00 hrs

Note : Check local timings. Slight variation possible. Please recheck and verify timings for your location from a nearby pandit.

Other Important Days :

Vasu Baras – Govatsa Dwadashi  – 27th October 2016
Labh Pancham - 5th November 2016

If you Like This Post Please Comment Below and Share ...