Diwali : Diwali 2012 Dates & Muhurat Timings


Diwali is the festival of lights and is considered to be the most important in India and is being celebrated by all the Indian through out the world. It is five day festival starting from Dhanteras till the fifth day known as Bhaiduj.

Diwali 2012 Dates :

Dhanatrayodashi or Dhan Teras  – 11th November 2012
Naraka Chaturdashi or Choti Diwali  – 12th November 2012
Diwali or Deepavali  – 13th November 2012
Bali Pratipada or Gujarati New Year  – 14th November 2012
Bhaiduj or Yama Dwitiya  – 15th November 2012

Diwali 2012 Muhurat Timings :

Muhurat for Dhan Teras Puja – 11th November 2012 :

  • Dhanteras Puja Muhurta = 17:28:39 hrs to 19:24:17 hrs
  • Pradosh Kaal = 17:13:54 hrs to 19:53:42 hrs
  • Vrishabha Kaal = 17:28:39 hrs to 19:24:17 hrs

Pradosh Kaal during Vrishabha Lagna or Sthir (fixed or not moveable) Lagna is the best time for Diwali Puja or Deepavali Puja or Lakshmi Ganesh Pujan or Lakshmi Puja on Dhanteras. It is said that if Dhanteras Puja is done during Sthir Lagna, Lakshmiji will stay in your home.  is considered as Sthir and mostly overlaps with Pradosh Kaal during Diwali day. Many communities especially Gujarati businessmen do Chopda Pujan during Diwali Puja. In this Puja new account books are inaugurated in presence of Goddess Lakshmi to seek her blessing for the next financial year.

Muhurat for Diwali Day Lakshmi Puja – 13th November 2012 :

  • Lakshmi Puja Muhurta = 17:20:47 hrs to 19:16:25 hrs
  • Pradosh Kaal = 17:12:53 hrs to 19:53:12 hrs
  • Vrishabha Kaal = 17:20:47 hrs to 19:16:25 hrs

Note : Check local timings. Slight variation possible. Please recheck and verify timings for your location from a nearby pandit.

Other Important Days :

Vasu Baras – Govatsa Dwadashi  – 10th November 2012
Labh Pancham  – 18th November 2012

If you Like This Post Please Comment Below and Share ...