Mahalaya Pitru Paksha 2016 : Dates for Shraad, Tarpan 2016

Pitru Paksha which “fortnight of the ancestors” is a 16 day lunar period when Hindu’s pay homage to their ancestors (Pitrs) by offering food to them.

Sarvapitri Amavasya - Shradh 2014

Tarpan and Shradh are performed during this 16 day period which is also known as Pitri Pokkho, Sola Shraddha (“sixteen shraddhas”), Kanagat, Jitiya, Mahalaya Paksha and Apara paksha.

The Pitru Paksha begins on the full moon day (Purnima) that occurs immediately after the Ganesh festival and ending on new moon day which is known as Sarvapitri amavasya or Mahalaya.

However in North India and Nepal this period corresponds to the dark fortnight of the month Ashvin, instead of Bhadrapada.

Pitru Paksha is considered to be inauspicious by Hindus.

Pitru Paksha 2016 Dates :

16 September (Friday) Purnima Shraddha
17 September (Saturday) Pratipada Shraddha
18 September (Sunday) Dwitiya Shraddha
19 September (Monday) Tritiya Shraddha, Chaturthi Shraddha
20 September (Tuesday) Maha Bharani, Panchami Shraddha
21 September (Wednesday) Shashthi Shraddha
22 September (Thursday) Saptami Shraddha
23 September (Friday) Ashtami Shraddha
24 September (Saturday) Navami Shraddha
25 September (Sunday) Dashami Shraddha
26 September (Monday) Ekadashi Shraddha
27 September (Tuesday) Dwadashi Shraddha
28 September (Wednesday) Magha Shraddha, Trayodashi Shraddha
29 September (Thursday) Chaturdashi Shraddha
30 September (Friday) Sarva Pitru Amavasya

If you Like This Post Please Comment Below and Share ...

$$$ Invest & Make Money $$$
X Investment Books - Buzzingstock Publishing House