Mahalaya Pitru Paksha 2017 : Dates for Shraad, Tarpan 2017

Pitru Paksha which “fortnight of the ancestors” is a 16 day lunar period when Hindu’s pay homage to their ancestors (Pitrs) by offering food to them.

Sarvapitri Amavasya - Shradh 2014

Tarpan and Shradh are performed during this 16 day period which is also known as Pitri Pokkho, Sola Shraddha (“sixteen shraddhas”), Kanagat, Jitiya, Mahalaya Paksha and Apara paksha.

The Pitru Paksha begins on the full moon day (Purnima) that occurs immediately after the Ganesh festival and ending on new moon day which is known as Sarvapitri amavasya or Mahalaya.

However in North India and Nepal this period corresponds to the dark fortnight of the month Ashvin, instead of Bhadrapada.

Pitru Paksha is considered to be inauspicious by Hindus.

Pitru Paksha 2017 Dates :

5 September 2017 (Tuesday) Purnima Shraddha
6 September 2017 (Wednesday) Pratipada Shraddha
7 September 2017 (Thursday) Dwitiya Shraddha
8 September 2017 (Friday) Tritiya Shraddha, Chaturthi Shraddha
9 September 2017 (Saturday) Maha Bharani, Panchami Shraddha
10 September 2017 (Sunday) Shashthi Shraddha
11 September 2017 (Monday) Saptami Shraddha
12 September 2017 (Tuesday) Ashtami Shraddha
13 September 2017 (Wednesday) Navami Shraddha
14 September 2017 (Thursday) Dashami Shraddha
15 September 2017 (Friday) Ekadashi Shraddha
16 September 2017 (Saturday) Dwadashi Shraddha
17 September 2017 (Sunday) Magha Shraddha, Trayodashi Shraddha
18 September 2017 (Monday) Chaturdashi Shraddha
19 September 2017 (Tuesday) Sarva Pitru Amavasya

If you Like This Post Please Comment Below and Share ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*