Navratri Colours : 9 Colours for 9 Days of Navratri

Navratri is the most propitious celebrated festival of India. ‘Nav’ is a hindi word which means ‘nine’ and ‘ratri’ is used for ‘night’. It has variety of wonderful cultures and traditions.

During the 9 day festival of Navratri there is a custom of wearing different colours of dresses and sarees.

Maa Durga Photo

The tradition of 9 colours has lots of importance and is very common in Gujarat, Maharashtra and some other parts of North India during Navaratri. What are the nine special colours that can be used and sarees to wear by women during Navratri?

It is said that the nine colours represent the nine avatars or incarnations of Goddess Durga. During Navratri, devotees perform alankar (make up) to Durga Mata idol with the referred colour of the saree.

9 Colours of Navratri:

Blue – Navratri Day 1.

Yellow – Navratri Day 2.

Yellow – Navratri Day 3.

Green – Navratri Day 4.

Grey – Navratri Day 5.

Orange – Navratri Day 6.

White – Navratri Day 7.

Red – Navratri Day 8.

Purple – Navratri Day 9.

If you Like This Post Please Comment Below and Share ...


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *