Regional Names of Raksha Bandhan in India

Raksha Bandhan is known by different names in different states of India, by different communities.

Raksha Bandhan is primarily a North and West Indian Festival but is celebrated in other parts of India as well though the day of Shravan Purnima or Raksha Bandhan has a different significance in southern and coastal regions.

Regional Names of Raksha Bandhan in India

Following are the different Regional Names of Raksha Bandhan in India:

Rakhi – Rakhi is one of the most important festival in India.

Rakhi Purnima – Rakhi purnima is celebrated in the northern and northwestern parts of India.

Nariyal Purnima – It is called Nariyal Purnima or coconut full moon in the Western Ghats that includes the states of Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa and Karnataka.

Avani Avittam / Upakarmam – Rakhi Purnima is called Avani Avittam in southern parts of India that is in Kerala, Andhra Peadesh, Tamil Nadu and parts of Orissa and is an Important day for the Brahmins.

Kajari Purnima – It is called Shravani or Kajari Purnima in Madhya Pradesh, chattisgarh, Jharkhand and Bihar.

Pavitropana – This day is celebrated as Pavitropana in Gujarat.

Gamha Purnima – Rakhi is also celebrated as Gamha Purnima in Odisha.

Jandhyam Poornima – Jandhyam is Sanskrit for sacred thread, and Poornima denotes the full moon in Sanskrit. The people of the Kumaon region of Uttarakhand, celebrate Raksha Bandhan and Janopunyu.

Jhulan Purnima, Poonal/Jandhya Poornima/ Janyu – According to Bengali Culture and Celebration, in the state of West Bengal, this day is also called Jhulan Purnima.

Other Names – Every region has a different name and celebration for the Rakhi Purnima. The common link is that tying of rakhi on rakshabandhan is now performed as a part of all the ceremonies.

In 2018, Raksha Bandhan will be celebrated on Sunday, 26 August 2018.

If you Like This Post Please Comment Below and Share ...